Tags

,

Fourteen inspiring student photographers from the School of Communications are featured in the senior thesis exhibition, running now-December 10 in the Performing Arts Center. Each Photographer has learned to let the shutter do the BLINKing as they capture a unique moment in time.

Patrick Dove, GVSU Senior, thesis titled Automotive Abstraction, said in regards to the senior thesis theme, “I guess ‘BLINK’ can play a part that it is twofold.  First, the ‘Blink’ acts like the shutter of the camera, the quick open and close action capturing that slice of time.  The second is more in line with my subject matter, old cars. Some say we have lost our touch; we are not the same people we once were.  We do not build things with lasting detail, or worse that we just do not bother”.  Dove questions that reality and states that, “I think we look at our past but, we seem to forget out past faster and faster with each generation and with the advancement of technology.  It has all happened in the blink of an eye to me, for my parents’ generation. It may seem to have taken longer and for the generation that is after me, they may not know what I am talking about”.

Emily Haapala, GVSU Senior, thesis titled Tribulations of the Unconscious Mind, said, “my work for this thesis explores the world of Nightmares. Since I myself have very strange and unusual nightmares I wanted to explore a bit deeper into how ones nightmares affect an individual and their deeper psychological meanings. When people look at my body of work it makes them explore their own nightmares. I absolutely loved when people came up to me during the show and wanted to share a personal nightmare they have had, its shows that my work affected them and made them want to tap into that unconscious mind”.

The event is drawing large crowds of students, faculty and local community members. Patrick Dove said, “people should go and see any art exhibit just to expand their horizons, but this show is just special because its free, it shows the work of so many talented image makers, but most of all it displays what the school of communications is all about”.

Emily Happala, noted that, “with GVSU’s liberal education I have experienced and learned many things that have grown my imagination and creative skills. Also, the photography Professors here at GVSU are fantastic and always eager to help a student grow”.

Featured in the exhibition is work by: Elizabeth Bohr, Nakia Bole, Katie Daniels, Patrick Dove, Amber Felicioni, Emily Haapala, Lauren Hills, Stacey Kasbow, Kevin Kropf, Amy Rowland, Lindsey Ruedel, Julie Sannes, Kara VanderMolen, and David Vander Wiere. A special showing will be held on Saturday, December 10, from 3-5 p.m. The exhibition is open to the public with free admission. Regular gallery hours are 10 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday-Friday, with extended hours Thursdays, until 7 p.m. For more information about this exhibition, please contact Emily Haapala at haapalae@mail.gvsu.edu or Julie Sannes at jusan26@yahoo.com.

