PR Prof Authors Chapter for Book on Nonprofit PR


, , ,

Dr. Tim Penning, Advertising & Public Relations Professor, has written a chapter for a recently published book:  Routledge Research in Public Relations: Public Relations in the Nonprofit Sector. His chapter, “PR Capacity on Nonprofit Boards,” gives insight on the value of having PR professionals serve on nonprofit boards.

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 12.11.16 PMPenning’s research reveals that executives of nonprofit organizations do not view having a PR professional serve on a nonprofit board as a priority, but rather as “nice to have.” Most executives in the study claimed that they did not seek out board members with a public relations background. Additionally, Penning’s research showed that nonprofit executives do not have an accurate understanding of public relations as a whole.

“PR Capacity on Nonprofit Boards” informs employees of nonprofits and public relations professionals alike on the importance of having board members with a PR background. It also suggests direction for further research on the topic.

You can read more of Dr. Penning’s writing on his blog, GRPR.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,766 other followers